Improvised Music Company

Piece by Piece #11: Steve Davis

“He is the most musical of drummers, ever empathic and sensitive.”

– Jazzwise

Piece by Piece: Steve Davis
Friday 11th December, 20:00 GMT
Streaming on IMC's Youtube channel

Following the international success of the series Piece By Piece in April-May 2020, Improvised Music Company (IMC) return with a second season of this unique musical ‘chain letter’ of online improvisation, with eight exciting new artists from Ireland creating new work in sequence.  

The first series of Piece by Piece demonstrated the rich possibilities of the online medium, as some of Ireland’s finest improvising artists created new musical works. Creative use of film and manipulated visuals showed the artists’ inspirations and thought processes, and became as much part of the experience as the music. With a fresh impetus for this second season of Piece by Piece, the principle of interconnectedness will continue, with each artist’s performance influencing or inspiring the next.

The third work in the series comes from Northern Irish improvising drummer Steve Davis on Friday 11th December.

Dr. Steve Davis is a professional percussionist and composer known for his jazz drumming as his free improvisational style of playing. He has played with the European Jazz Orchestra and artists such as Evan Parker, Django Bates, Ben Castle, Mike Walker, Brian Irvine, & Norman Winstone amongst others. He is known for his work with his own band Hypnotoad & trio Bourne/Davis/Kane. Steve also lectures in performance and composition at Queens University Belfast. 

The eight sequential solo performances for ‘Piece by Piece’  Season 2, will be broadcast via IMC's YouTube channel, as well as IMC's social media platforms on Fridays at 8pm.

Enjoy fresh new music, influenced in real-time, from world-class Irish improvising musicians, telling the story of these times through new music and live performance, piece by piece.


Connect with IMC on FacebookInstagramTwitter and YouTube

Connect with Steve Davis on his Soundcloud

See the whole series here.